The Arc of Dutchess Chapter Board and Members Annual Meeting

July 8th, 2019

The Board of Directors of The Arc of Dutchess held their Annual Members Meeting on June 20, 2019 at the Poughkeepsie Grand Hotel.  Annual reports were presented to the membership and elections of new board member Dylan Murphy, as well as re-election of board members  Anne Clarke, Janet Sistare, Lorraine Costello and Gabe Canino were held.

Officers elected for the coming year were Sharon Russitano, President; Lorraine Costello, Vice President; Mary Jane Lekanides , Treasurer; and Gary Collins, Secretary. The Nominating Committee members elected for the coming year were Gabe Canino, Lorraine Costello, and Mary Jane Lekanides.

A special recognition and appreciation was presented to Mark Metzger as he completed 36 years of service on the Board of Directors. In that time, Mr. Metzger held the office of President and Treasurer as well as serving on several committees. Mark will continue his involvement with the agency as he remains a member of the Guardianship Committee and Vice President of the Arc of Dutchess Foundation. Several members of the Arc New York were in attendance to congratulate Mark including President, Sandy Gumerov.

The Annual Meeting was well attended
Mark Metzger with The Arc New York President Sandy Gumerov
Sarah Weikel, Director of Donner relations with board member Janet Sistare and newly elected Vice President Lorraine Costello.


The Chapter Board of The Arc of Dutchess


Sharon Russitano is a retired Coordinator, from the Center for Communication Disorders at Mid-Hudson Regional Hospital, and Chapter Board President of The Arc of Dutchess. Sharon serves on the Quality of Services and Development Committees.


Lorraine S. Costello is a semi-retired Director of Special Education at the Arlington Central School District and owner of Ice-Age Design jewelry fabrication. Lorraine is the Vice President of The Arc of Dutchess  and serves on the NYSARC, Inc. Board of Governors. She is active on the Quality of Services Committee and is Chairperson of the Outreach Committee. Ms. Costello also serves the agency as Secretary for The Arc of Dutchess Foundation.

Gary Collins, Ph. D., is a Licensed Psychologist, and Director of the Partial Hospital Program at the Dutchess County Department of Behavioral and Community Health. Dr. Collins serves as Secretary for The Arc of Dutchess and is a member of the Quality of Services Committee.

Mary Jane LeKanides is a self-employed Tax Preparer (H & R Block), and a long-time supporter of the Girl Scouts of America. Ms. LeKanides serves on the Nominating and the Outreach Committees of The Arc of Dutchess. She is the newly elected Treasurer.


Anne Clarke is a NYS trained Ombudsman, a retired Registered Nurse and Chairperson of the Guardianship Committee

Gabrielle “Gabe” Canino, MSW, is a retired Office for People With Developmental Disabilities (OPWDD) Service Coordinator, and Options For People Through Services (OPTS) Coordinator and rate setter at the Taconic Developmental Disabilities Regional Office (DDRO). She is Chairperson of the Quality of Services Committee for The Arc of Dutchess.


Stephen Dambra leads the Reformed Church of Beacon as the Pastor of Odyssey Church. Mr. Dambra serves on the Guardianship Committee.


Susan Hoctor is a retired Guidance Counselor at the Arlington Central School District, a Member of the NYS United Teachers Association (Retired) and the Arlington Teachers Association (Retired). Ms. Hoctor serves on the Outreach Committee

Janet P. Sistare, Esq. works for Sholes & Miller. She is active with community outreach and has served as co-chair of several Arc of Dutchess events.

Dylan Murphy is our newest member of the board and will be serving on the Ways & Means Committee. Dylan is the VP, Credit Administration of Rhinebeck Bank.